30 September 2022

The City Government of Davao on Thursday inaugurated the first Tourist Police Unit (TPU) office building here.

The city government also turned over the new Bajada Fire Station to the Bureau of Fire Protection XI on Thursday.

The TPU headquarters and the new fire station, located along J.P.Laurel Avenue (near NCCC Bajada), are housed in two interconnected buildings. Both offices are funded by the local government with a budget of P7.5 million and P7.8 million, respectively.

In a separate event, Police Station 18 Bajada, located along J.P. Laurel Avenue Cor. Dacudao St., was also inaugurated. The Bajada Police Station had a budget of P5,150,000— also from the city government.

New TPU chief PLtCol Archie Zozobrado said a total of 108 tourist police personnel will be deployed in the most visited places in the city.

“Ang tourist police, focused siya sa local and foreign tourists. Mag-provide ta’g security assistance sa mga areas like tourist destinations, malls, vital installations where daghan ang mga tao nga nagasuroy sa area (The tourist police will focus on local and foreign tourist. We will provide security assistance in areas like tourist destinations, malls, vital installation where many people visit to roam around),” Zozobrado said.

Police Station 18 Bajada will be manned by 46 police personnel and 62 police auxiliary. Davao City Police Office City Director Lupaz said the additional police presence in the downtown area will bolster the DCPO’s capabilities to safeguard the city’s most densely populated areas.

“With this blessing, the public safety and security sector is deeply grateful and inspired as this addition to our capabilities will improve our services, specifically our response in case of emergencies and incidences to the nearby barangays in this area,” Lupaz said. CIO

Present during the inauguration ceremonies were Mayor Sebastian Duterte, DCPO Director PCol Alberto Lupaz, BFP XI Director FFSSupt Richard Arbutante, DC Fire District Director FSupt Anastacio Jusay Jr., and City Government department heads led by Acting City Admnistrator Atty. Francis Mark Layog.