Mayor Inday Sara Duterte has formed a Technical Working Group (TWG) that will help implement some environment protection measures, in accordance with the provisions of its green sisterhood agreement with the City of Kitakyushu in Japan.

“The technical working group will facilitate the preparation of the Climate Action Plan of Davao City focusing on greenhouse gas (GHG) inventory, mitigation and adaptation,” Mayor Inday said.

Davao City and the City of Kitakyushu signed in November 2017 a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that aimed to establish a Green Sister Cooperation, in order to promote and expand effective and mutually beneficial cooperation in the development of the two cities.

Among the fields of cooperation between the two cities are the creation of a Low Carbon Society, Resource Recycling and Capacity Building for the Officials of each City among others.

Officials of the two cities met in May last year to kick off the preparation of the Davao City Local Climate Change Action Plan (LCCAP).

Executive order No. 40, which the mayor signed in December last year, is expected to bolster the MOU. EO No. 40 created “a technical working group (TWG) to facilitate in the preparation of the local climate action plan of Davao City focusing on greenhosue gas (GHG) inventory, mitigation and adaptation.”

The TWG is mandated to directly coordinate, collaborate and work with Japanese government representatives, national government offices, city government agencies and private entities as may be required for the preparation of the LCCAP; provide technical expertise and render administrative decision support to the City Mayor; and manage the implementation schedule of the LCCAP preparation, data collection, reporting process, as well as document key decisions.

EO No. 40 takes inspiration from Section 14 of Republic Act No. 9729, also known as the Climate Change Act of 2009, which provides that the Local Government Units shall serve as the frontline agencies in the formulation, planning and implementation of climate change action plans in their respective areas.

The mayor said Section 18 of Republic Act No. 7160 or the Local Government Code of 1991″ authorizes local government units to establish an organization that shall be responsible for the efficient and effective implementation of their development plans, programs, objectives and priorities.

The TWG is composed of the following: City Mayor’s Office (CMO) as head with with the Assistant City Administrator for Administion (ACAdO) as permanent representative, and the Office of the City Planning and Development Coordinator (OCPDC) as the assistant head. Group members are the following: City Environment and Natural Resources Office (CENRO), City Transport and Traffic Management Office (CTTMO), City Engineer’s Office (CEO), City Agriculturist’s Office (CAgO), City Veterinarian’s Office (CVO), Disaster Risk and Reduction Management Office (DRRMO), Department of Environment and Natural Resources — Environmental Management Bureau (DENR-EMB) and one (1) Representative from the Local Academe.

“All City Government of Davao offices are hereby directed to provide their full and active support, and utmost cooperation to the preparation of the LCCAP focusing on Greenhouse Gas (GHG) inventory, mitigation and adaptation,’ Mayor Inday said. CIO