The Official Website of the City Government of Davao

| |

The Davao City Disaster Risk Reduction Management Office (CDRRMO) will push for the declaration of 15 areas as “no build and habitation zones” as these are highly prone to floods and landslides.

CDRRMO chief Alfredo Baloran said his office has come up with its recommendation to prevent further eventualities that will result in the loss of lives and properties.

Baloran identified the areas prone to floods are Dike, Phase 3, NHA Bangkal in Barangay Talomo; Purok Lugot, Suraya Homes in Cabantian; Purok 23, Kuot, Davao Impress Subdivision in Barangay Sasa; San Juan Village, Bangkal in Barangay Talomo; Taal Riverside in Talomo and New San Isidro in Buhangin.

The landslide-prone areas are Purok Damayan in Barangay Buhangin Proper; Old Smokey Mountain in Barangay Matina Pangi; Quinones Compound in Barangay Matina Crossing; Purok 29-B, SPDA in Barangay Panacan; Phase 1, Greenland Subdivision in Barangay Cabantian; Purok 46, San Vicente in Barangay Talomo; Phase 3, Wellspring in Catalunan Pequeño; Abrazaldo Compound in Matina Crossing; and Sitio Gulay, Sincere Subdivision in Catalunan Pequeño.

“The City Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council already adopted our recommendation, we will make a resolution to be endorsed by the City Council for implementation,” Baloran said.

Prior to its implementation, Baloran said the city housing will conduct an inspection of all residents living in the area to determine if they qualify for housing relocation.

Baloran added that all structures inside the no-build and habitation zones will be demolished by the City Engineer’s Office.

“We are doing this to ensure that they will be safe from calamities. It is better if we will adopt mitigating measures. Those areas are dangerous for people, especially during the rainy season,” Baloran said. CIO