The Davao City government will extend financial help to areas devastated by Typhoon Rolly in Luzon. 

During the 19th City Council’s Special Session on Friday, local lawmakers has authored Mayor Sara Duterte to utilize a portion of the Davao City Government of Davao’s Disaster Risk Reduction Management Fund (Calamity Fund) for Calendar Year 2020, in the amount of P7.5 million pesos, as financial assistance to LGUs which were declared under a State of Calamity. 

The P7.5 million will be divided among seven (7) provinces and one city hit by Typhoon Quinta and Rolly, namely, Province of Oriental Mindoro, Batangas, Albay, Camarines Sur, Marinduque, Cavite and Catanduanes, and Batangas City. 

Alfredo Baloran, the chief of the Davao City Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office (CDRRMO), said the city will extend 1 Million to each of the provinces while P500,000 to Batangas City. 

The financial assistance will be taken from the City’s Quick Response Fund (QRF) which is 30 per cent of the 2020 Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Fund (DRRMF) or calamity fund. The city’s calamity fund of five per cent of the annual budget. CIO